My new project – Rose’s Alpha Bakers

Screen Shot 2015-08-24 at 9.08.31 PM

Welcome to the Alpha Bakers bake along, an online project where a group of food bloggers bake our way through The Baking Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum. Most of the recipes made during this project will not be shared, but if you see something amazing and want to know about the recipe let me know and I will get it to you

I will still be posting original content – please check back often.

My first project is the Perfect Peach Galette. I live in northern California and it is right in the middle of peach season. Many of the big (and small) commercial farms are nearby. I love going to the local Farmer’s Markets and grab whatever is in season. This week I saw these amazing tree ripened Elberta Peaches from Auburn. The nice couple who own the farm said they had just been picked Saturday afternoon. I can’t wait to pick up some more next Sunday….

IMG_2604

So – this is the first time I have made crust from scratch in a while. This was not my finest effort, as the galette requires a very thin crust, and as you can see, mine is a little “chunky”…it was easy to assemble but getting it rolled out correctly was a challenge.

IMG_2613

It did come together pretty easily and looked great when I popped it in the oven. I used a Pampered Chef rectangular baking stone cookie sheet, and because I was worried it would stick, I used parchment paper too. The crust came out perfectly browned cooking it at the prescribed cooking time. I added some finishing sugar and a bit of cinnamon and it was really delicious! So much better than pie when you have fresh fruit. It tasted amazingly good. I will definitely make it again!

2 thoughts on “My new project – Rose’s Alpha Bakers

  1. That looks amazing – I love things that look hand crafted! My mother had the best pie crust in the world. If you would like the recipe, please let me know … Nanci

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

